header graphic header graphic
navigation bar navigation bar navigation bar navigation bar navigation bar navigation bar


The history of Presbyterianism in Ireland can be traced back to 1613. The first Non-Subscribing Presbytery was formed in 1725 and our most notable historical leader, Dr. Henry Montgomery (pictured left), took a leading part in the controversy in the 1820's that led to the formation of the Non-Subscribing Remonstrant Synod of Ulster. Our Church refuses to impose compulsory subscription to any man-made creeds in respect of a person's Christian faith. Our ethos is 'faith guided by reason and conscience' and we advocate liberal and tolerant Christianity.

forthcoming events will be displayed on denominational facebook page:


First World War Roll of Honour

There will be a special service of dedication for the new First World War Roll of Honour for the Non-Subscribing Presbyterian Church of Ireland at Downpatrick on Sunday, 18th November at 3.00 pm. Everyone is welcome and we hope all churches will support the service. Further details and invitations will be sent out nearer the time. Copies of the Roll will be made available at the service and full details of this will be sent out in due course.

Thanks to everyone who has so far assisted in this project and make a plea for anyone else who has information about any member of the Non-Subscribing Presbyterian denomination who served in the Great War to let Rev Dr David Steers have the details as soon as possible.

Rev Dr David Steers is Minister of Downpatrick, Ballee and Clough Non-Subscribing Presbyterian Churches




Saturday 22nd September 2018

Between 9.00am - 1.00pm

In the Lyttle Memorial Hall

Admission – Adults £5.00 Children £2.50

Tombola Stall

Everyone Welcome








Rt. Rev. Colin Campbell

Contact Address:
9 Churchlands Grove,
BT38 9BG
Northern Ireland


Rev. Robert McKee

Contact Details:
Bellahill House,
10 Dalways Bawn Road
BT38 9BY

Assistant to Clerk:
Mr. Paul Jeffrey

Contact Details:
Mobile: 07580 051790